Simple Stir Fry

So, prior to the New Year, I did some food intolerance testing. In addition to gluten/wheat (which I already suspected after such dramatic health changes when going gluten free) I learned I am also intolerant of dairy and corn.

I have always suspected dairy but until now have been unwilling to make the switch to dairy-free. A corn intolerance was a new one for me… Never thought about it or knew it was really something people have intolerance of. Plus, corn is in many of the gluten-free alternatives to pasta, chips, and tortillas that I enjoy. Bummer, right!

But, the doctor who did the tests recommended I do weeks of a strict gluten-free, corn-free, and dairy-free diet and there is no time like the new year to start it.

I am 5 days in of being strict about my diet and I miss several things… Corn tortillas and cheese for veggie quesadillas at lunch, chips, and the fact that a slice of cheese or a piece of string cheese was my go-to quick snack. I am also completely intimidated to go out to a restaurant right now. Like with making the change to gluten-free, it just took a whole for me to adjust and know my options. This too will happen with corn and dairy, I hope.

My plan is to give it the 9 weeks and then try easing a few things into my diet again to see how I react. Butter and a nice hard cheddar might be the first ones I try to get back in my diet!!

But until then, I am going to do my best to remain dairy-free, corn-free, and gluten-free.

So, we already do a lot of meals that fit this criteria and this one fits too. I love a good healthy stir fry and the sauce for this was super easy. I also love the versatility of a stir fry… Any veggies you have on hand generally work and any meat you want to try.

In lieu of traditional rice, I did cauliflower rice. It is so easy and tasty and leaves you not feeling weighed down by a heavy carb. I describe how to make it below the recipe if you are new to cauliflower rice. Definitely try it!

20140105-151829.jpg

Simple Stir Fry

*All measurements for the veggies are approximate as I just started tossing them in until it looked like a big enough meal for our family.

2 chicken breasts, cut into bite-sized pieces
2-3 c. broccoli florets (fresh or frozen)
1 bell pepper, sliced (I used yellow)
3 large carrots, sliced
Handful sugar snap peas, halved
1/4 c. Cashews
* 1 head cauliflower (only if doing cauliflower rice)
Salt/pepper/garlic powder
2 Tbsp. Sesame oil, divided

Sauce ingredients:
1 1/2 Tbsp. Arrowroot powder
1 heaping Tbsp. fresh ginger, minced
2 large garlic cloves, minced
3 Tbsp. Gluten-free soy sauce
1 c. Chicken broth

Instructions:

In a small bowl, whisk together sauce ingredients and set aside.

Heat 1 Tbsp. oil in a large skillet. Add chicken and season lightly with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Cook chicken until no longer pink in the middle. Remove from pan and set aside.

In the same pan, add remaining sesame oil and ginger. Sauté 30 seconds or so and then add veggies. Cover and cook until tender-crisp stirring occasionally.

Add chicken and sauce in and heat until sauce simmers and thickens. Toss with cashews and serve over rice.

Cauliflower Rice

1 head cauliflower
1 Tbsp. grape seed or coconut oil

Cut cauliflower into florets and toss into a food processor. Process until cauliflower takes on rice like consistency.

Heat oil over medium heat in a skillet. Add cauliflower and cook, stirring frequently, until “rice” is tender. Eat immediately.

* I felt like a whole head of cauliflower was a bit too much rice for our family. So, I froze half of it uncooked to use later for either rice or in a cauliflower pizza crust.

Leave a Reply

Our Growing Paynes

A journey about cooking, traveling, gardening, and crafting.

Pastor Dale Jenkins

Encouragement, Faith, and Hope for the Journey

Scissortail SILK | Becky Thompson

Encouragement for Today >>> Hope for Tomorrow

Clare Smith

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Eat the cookie!

before the cookie eats you...

Life Shared and Loved

A blog written by Krysta Kemp on all areas of life loved.

Inspired.by.the.Journey

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Spiritual Table

One girl's quest to learn why food is a matter of faith.

oil-istas - The oil-istas Blog

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Bee Baby Blog

Real food, baby stuff and awesomeness

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Keeper of the Home

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Musings of a Mom

Thoughts on raising two little lovely boys!

Proverbs and Pacifiers

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

The Better Mom

Growing Better Together

Organizing Made Fun

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

I'm an Organizing Junkie

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

