Spinach and Egg Bake

I’ve been a bit “blah” with breakfast lately. My problem is that while I rarely repeat the same thing for dinner, for breakfast I tend to stick with the same thing over and over again until I get sick of it and then search out the next thing to have over and over again until I get sick of it and so on…

For the last MANY months, I have been having my No “Grain”ola with homemade yogurt (easiest thing to make – I will post how I Do it sometime) and some berries or cut up green apples on top. It keeps me full and is tasty but when you eat it every day for months, it gets old. I also like to make almond flour waffles with the boys but that too can get old day in and day out. So, I polled some Facebook friends for some ideas.  Many suggested making a large crustless quiche type dish and eating leftovers throughout the week.  I have one such dish on the blog already but thought I would add this one to the mix.

This recipe is a common one. I originally got it from my mother-in-law who calls it her BSF egg dish because she often would make it for her Bible Study Fellowship gatherings. I just call it my favorite simple egg dish. It’s super easy to toss together, bakes up beautifully every time and can be versatile. You can add meat, other veggies like peppers or grated carrots to it, and it still tastes delicious. I have just the very base recipe below. We had it for ‘brinner’ last night and now I have leftovers for the next few days.

This recipe is also easy double or triple and then to freeze.  Bake it up and then cut into single serving squares.  Freeze the squares in individual bags to take out and microwave or heat in the oven for breakfast another day.

The recipe calls for 1/4 c. flour.  I used an all purpose gluten-free mix but I think that you could easily make it grain free by using 1 -2 Tbsp. coconut flour in it’s place.  It is a pretty flexible dish and not much can mess it up, in my opinion.

P.S. I don’t have a good picture of this one but will work on it!  Trust me though, it is pretty and delicious.  🙂

Spinach and Egg Bake

6 eggs (preferably organic, free range)
1 yellow onion, finely chopped
1/4 c. all-purpose gluten free flour (or 1-2 Tbsp. coconut flour)
1/2 c. butter, melted
16 oz. cottage cheese
16 oz. cheddar cheese, shredded
10 oz. frozen spinach, thawed and squeezed of liquid
1 tsp. fresh minced garlic (about 2 cloves)
salt/pepper to taste

Prepare a 9×13 baking dish by greasing with butter. Heat oven to 350 degrees.

In a medium bowl, beat eggs. Add flour and onion and mix until flour is no longer lumpy. Add remaining ingredients and stir until evenly combined.

Pour egg mixture into prepared baking dish. Bake for 45 minutes or until dish is firm and golden on top. Serve hot!

Leave a Reply

Our Growing Paynes

A journey about cooking, traveling, gardening, and crafting.

Pastor Dale Jenkins

Encouragement, Faith, and Hope for the Journey

Scissortail SILK | Becky Thompson

Encouragement for Today >>> Hope for Tomorrow

Clare Smith

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Eat the cookie!

before the cookie eats you...

Life Shared and Loved

A blog written by Krysta Kemp on all areas of life loved.

Inspired.by.the.Journey

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Spiritual Table

One girl's quest to learn why food is a matter of faith.

oil-istas - The oil-istas Blog

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Bee Baby Blog

Real food, baby stuff and awesomeness

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Keeper of the Home

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Musings of a Mom

Thoughts on raising two little lovely boys!

Proverbs and Pacifiers

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

The Better Mom

Growing Better Together

Organizing Made Fun

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

I'm an Organizing Junkie

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

