Deviled Eggs (No Mayo)

I have been way behind on getting posts up so please excuse the fact that I am still going back to the 4th of July for my recipes this week…

For the 4th of July, we hosted a BBQ with some good friends.  My husband wanted to do “traditional, all-American” food for the BBQ.  We served BBQ Chicken breasts, Jo-Jo potato wedges, a veggie salad, and these delicious deviled eggs.  But, of course, for me it isn’t that simple; I had to give all the recipes a healthy, gluten-free twist.

My mother-in-law always told me that deviled eggs were really simple to make but I just have never done it – it just doesn’t look that simple to me. But, when we went with the traditional food theme, I went for it and made my first deviled eggs.  I wanted them to have no mayonnaise because I just don’t like using it.  So, instead this recipe uses plain Greek yogurt along with a few other ingredients.

My husband couldn’t tell the difference and ate MANY of them that day.  I loved them too and definitely will be making them again.  Oh, and my mother-in-law is right – they really are easy to make.

 

image

Deviled Eggs (No mayo)

6 eggs
2 Tbsp. plain Greek yogurt
1 tsp. Dijon mustard
1 tsp. white wine vinegar
1 tsp. olive oil
splash lemon juice
1/4 – 1/2 tsp. chili powder
sea salt/fresh cracked pepper to taste
paprika to sprinkle on top

Instructions:

Hard boil eggs. My method is to place eggs in an empty pot. Cover with cold water. Bring to a boil. Boil for one minute before covering and removing from heat. Set time for 12 minutes and leave eggs in hot water for 12 minutes. When time is up, place eggs in a bowl filled with cold water and ice. Allow to fully cook before peeling.

Peel the eggs. Slice eggs in half and reserve yolks in a small bowl.

Combine all ingredients except paprika with yolks. If it seems to dry, add a splash of olive oil or lemon juice. Adjust to your taste preferences. Scoop a small amount of yolk mixture into each egg white. Sprinkle with paprika on top. Refrigerate until ready to serve.

One response

  1. I’ll have to try this with the Greek yogurt. I make Deviled eggs all the time. I’m a huge fan of them. I also add some sweet pickle relish–gives some more textured and tartness. I have in the past added dried minced onion and extremely diced celery too. The thing with D.E. is that you can really add just about anything to them and they taste great every time.

Leave a Reply

Our Growing Paynes

A journey about cooking, traveling, gardening, and crafting.

Pastor Dale Jenkins

Encouragement, Faith, and Hope for the Journey

Scissortail SILK | Becky Thompson

Encouragement for Today >>> Hope for Tomorrow

Clare Smith

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Eat the cookie!

before the cookie eats you...

Life Shared and Loved

A blog written by Krysta Kemp on all areas of life loved.

Inspired.by.the.Journey

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Spiritual Table

One girl's quest to learn why food is a matter of faith.

oil-istas - The oil-istas Blog

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Bee Baby Blog

Real food, baby stuff and awesomeness

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Keeper of the Home

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Musings of a Mom

Thoughts on raising two little lovely boys!

Proverbs and Pacifiers

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

The Better Mom

Growing Better Together

Organizing Made Fun

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

I'm an Organizing Junkie

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

