Homemade Chocolate LaraBars

My husband always does breakfast in the car on the way to work so I am trying to come up with some new healthy ideas for him. I have wanted for a while to try making my own granola bars, protein bars, or larabars. I found this recipe on www.ohsheglows.com and followed it pretty closely. We all think they turned out delicious!!! My husband feels they are a little too sweet for him first thing in the morning.  So, it looks like the little guys and I will have to use them for our morning snacks instead! Bummer! 🙂 But that also means I will have to continue my search for the perfect breakfast-to-go for my husband.  (BTW, I don’t know what happened but I did not get a good photo of these.  They really are delicious… much better than presented in the picture!  I promise!)

Homemade Chocolate Larabars

Homemade Chocolate Larabars

1 1/2 c. raw cashews
1/2 tsp. fine grain sea salt
1 c. pitted medjool dates
1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
2 oz. extra dark chocolate (I used half of an organic 85% dark chocolate bar from Trader Joe’s – though next time I plan to try unsweetened dark chocolate as even this was a bit too sweet.)

Instructions:

In a food processor, place cashews and sea salt. Grind for 30 seconds or until the cashews are finely ground – pea size pieces or smaller.

Chop dates into small pieces (makes for easier blending). Add the dates and vanilla and continue processing until the ingredients begin to stick together. Remove to a bowl.

Break chocolate into smaller chunks and place into food processor. Grind until finely ground. Mix chocolate into cashew/date mixture.

Line an 8×8 glass baking dish with parchment paper.  Press mixture firmly into the pan.  The more firmly you press it together, the better it will hold together.  I found it helpful to put a piece of parchment paper over the top so I could press down without it all sticking to my fingers.

Place in the freezer for about 15-30 minutes.  Remove and cut into squares of your desired preference.  I made 8 from this batch.  Wrap each bar individually in plastic wrap for easy grab-n-go snacks.  Store in the fridge or freezer (will last longer in the freezer but can be a bit hard to chew right away from the freezer.)

Food for thought: There are so many variations on the flavors in these.  We do have plans to try a few others and I promise to share them.  If you have any other combinations/ideas, I would love to hear them!!!

Leave a Reply

Our Growing Paynes

A journey about cooking, traveling, gardening, and crafting.

Pastor Dale Jenkins

Encouragement, Faith, and Hope for the Journey

Scissortail SILK | Becky Thompson

Encouragement for Today >>> Hope for Tomorrow

Clare Smith

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Eat the cookie!

before the cookie eats you...

Life Shared and Loved

A blog written by Krysta Kemp on all areas of life loved.

Inspired.by.the.Journey

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Spiritual Table

One girl's quest to learn why food is a matter of faith.

oil-istas - The oil-istas Blog

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Bee Baby Blog

Real food, baby stuff and awesomeness

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Keeper of the Home

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Musings of a Mom

Thoughts on raising two little lovely boys!

Proverbs and Pacifiers

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

The Better Mom

Growing Better Together

Organizing Made Fun

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

I'm an Organizing Junkie

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

