Grain-Free Pizza Crust

Last night, I had the pleasure of hearing a speaker, Dr. Natalie Gianforte of Maximized Living in Minnetonka, speak with a small group of women about nutritious eating for our families today.  (I am not at all affiliated with that clinic, just am really impressed with Dr. Natalie as a speaker and nutrition expert!)She shared so many interesting and enlightening facts about the importance of a whole food diet, reducing/eliminating sugars, increasing healthy fats, and focusing on food made by God, not food made by man.  If I wasn’t already before, I now am even more on fire for healthy eating!!!  I went through my pantry again today and tossed a bunch of things that now that I have learned more about and do not plan to cook with again. (This included such items as a bottle of canola oil, some old candy that was hiding in a drawer, brown and powdered sugar, among other things.)  It felt so good to purge!!!  FYI, in that same theme, I am going to be going back through old posts over the next few days and weeding out the ones that are not up to the standard I feel is good for my family now. 

Today’s recipe is one that I actually made a few days ago… I wanted to make pizza. My one recipe for g/f pizza crust requires two eggs… out of eggs. The other crust I love to use is my cauliflower pizza crust… no cauliflower. This is when I love google – I searched out gluten-free egg-free pizza crusts and came up with a great recipe. I added some seasonings to it and loved how it turned out. It was a delightful, flaky, thin-crust pizza. We made a traditional pepperoni pizza (using Applegate Natural pepperoni) for the boys and on the other pizza I added some tomatoes, fresh arugula, and fresh basil to the top. (Add the arugula and basil after baking just before serving.) 

The crust recipe I adapted came from a blog that I have found to have good recipes.  I have used it a few times and from what I have read/cooked from her blog, would recommend it to you.  It is www.realsustenance.com.  Check it out. 

IMG_1280

Grain-Free Pizza Crust

3 c. almond flour (I ran out and substituted about 1 c. of hazelnut flour – works fine as long as it is another nut flour)
7 Tbsp. arrowroot powder (or another starch – tapioca or corn)
1/2 tsp. dried basil
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1/2 tsp. dried oregano
1/4 tsp. celtic sea salt
2 tsp. baking powder
2/3 c. flaxseed meal
1 c. warm water
1 Tbsp. coconut oil, melted

In a large bowl, combine flour, arrowroot powder, spices, and baking powder. Mix well.

In a small bowl, mix flaxseed meal, water, and coconut oil. Mix until it starts to thicken. Pour into the flour mixture and stir until well mixed.

Cover two pizza pans with parchment paper. Divide dough into two balls and spread thinly over each pizza pan. Because the dough is a bit sticky, I found that if I used a piece of wax paper on top of the dough and pressed it flat, it didn’t get stuck to me or the spatula. Press until the dough is about 1/16th of an inch thick.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Bake crusts for 22-25 minutes or until the edges are golden and they are cooked through. Add your favorite toppings. Increase oven heat to 400 degrees and bake for another 10-12 minutes or until toppings are hot.

Food for Thought: This is another pizza recipe where it is easy to make one pizza and freeze the other. Simply bake the crust. Allow it to cool and then wrap it in plastic wrap tightly. Freeze flat. When you are ready to use it, simply unwrap it and place it on the baking sheet. Top and bake at 400 degrees or until everything is hot throughout.

Leave a Reply

Our Growing Paynes

A journey about cooking, traveling, gardening, and crafting.

Pastor Dale Jenkins

Encouragement, Faith, and Hope for the Journey

Scissortail SILK | Becky Thompson

Encouragement for Today >>> Hope for Tomorrow

Clare Smith

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Eat the cookie!

before the cookie eats you...

Life Shared and Loved

A blog written by Krysta Kemp on all areas of life loved.

Inspired.by.the.Journey

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Spiritual Table

One girl's quest to learn why food is a matter of faith.

oil-istas - The oil-istas Blog

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Bee Baby Blog

Real food, baby stuff and awesomeness

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Keeper of the Home

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Musings of a Mom

Thoughts on raising two little lovely boys!

Proverbs and Pacifiers

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

The Better Mom

Growing Better Together

Organizing Made Fun

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

I'm an Organizing Junkie

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

