Easy Salad Dressings (and a detox update)

Several people have asked me how my sugar detox is going so I thought I would share an update.  I am currently on day 14 of 21. I have had two slip-ups in the last two weeks.  One was enjoying a few bites of a dessert a friend made when we had them over for dinner (a homemade cheesecake and it was sooooo good.)  The other was some Vietnamese food at a baby shower at our neighbors house.  I am pretty sure I had some sugar but not sure as it was all homemade, traditional Vietnamese food and several items were desserts.  I only tried a bite or two of each item offered but of course didn’t want to be rude and not eat at all.  Good relations with our neighbors take precedence over this!  I have decided though to add one day for each slip-up onto the end of the detox in order to really feel like I accomplished the full 21 days.

It hasn’t been as hard as I thought initially it would be.  Because I had already gone gluten-free, many of the “no” items were already out of my diet.  I have missed fruit the most and probably second most would be using soy sauce to make marinades and stir fry.  I definitely don’t miss the grains like I thought I would and really enjoy the fact that I am eating so many veggies throughout the day.  I look at my plate for all meals and if there is nothing green on it, wonder what is wrong!  I think that is amazing.

I had some headaches initially and definitely had some mood swings.  But, those have abated and I am feeling more energetic than I was even a week ago.  I have not lost weight as many do on this detox but that isn’t why I did it so that is neither here nor there for me.  I am amazed at how my taste buds have changed.  Food that I previously would have thought bitter or sour now take on a whole new sweet delicious flavor.  A great example of that for me is plain Greek yogurt.  I thought it was barely palatable, much like eating a bowl of sour cream, when this started.  Now, I find it is a great breakfast – add some nuts, cinnamon, and good quality vanilla extract and I love it!!!

What do I hope to accomplish through this and after this? Well, I see this as a lifestyle change.  I do want to continue having veggies at every meal.  I do want to limit the carbs I eat as well as really any sugar.  I will be adding fruit back into my diet but probably not in the vast quantities that I was eating before.  I don’t want to go back to having that daily chocolate or carb crave that I notice in the mid to late afternoons. I am also very aware of how I am feeding my whole family.  I think that overall cutting sugar from our meals is important – it is often and unnecessary addition.  For example, at dinner now we often will have two veggies for sides rather than a heavy carb.  For lunch, the boys and I focus on our proteins, fruit/veggies, and a bit of dairy.  Overall this has been a good change!

Now, for the recipe that I alluded to in the title.  I have come to the conclusion that I will never buy dressing from the store again.  We always had half or quarter used salad dressings leftover in the fridge that would get thrown away- so wasteful.  And, it is so simple to make and tastes so delicious.  An easy rule of thumb for dressings is two to three parts oil to one part acid (vinegar, lemon juice, etc.).  From there you add your own seasonings to taste.  Here is my current favorite!

009

Lemon Basil Salad Dressing

juice of one lemon

6 Tbsp. olive oil

1-2 Tbsp. fresh basil, finely chopped

salt/pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients in a glass jar and seal tightly.  Shake well to combine and enjoy. Remember that with this dressing, less is more.  The dressing can be stored in the fridge for up to a week.  Make sure to bring it to room temperature before shaking and using.

Leave a Reply

Our Growing Paynes

A journey about cooking, traveling, gardening, and crafting.

Pastor Dale Jenkins

Encouragement, Faith, and Hope for the Journey

Scissortail SILK | Becky Thompson

Encouragement for Today >>> Hope for Tomorrow

Clare Smith

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Eat the cookie!

before the cookie eats you...

Life Shared and Loved

A blog written by Krysta Kemp on all areas of life loved.

Inspired.by.the.Journey

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Spiritual Table

One girl's quest to learn why food is a matter of faith.

oil-istas - The oil-istas Blog

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Bee Baby Blog

Real food, baby stuff and awesomeness

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Keeper of the Home

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Musings of a Mom

Thoughts on raising two little lovely boys!

Proverbs and Pacifiers

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

The Better Mom

Growing Better Together

Organizing Made Fun

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

I'm an Organizing Junkie

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

