Strawberry and Banana Baked Oatmeal

image

Going gluten-free has really messed up my breakfast routine… All I ever used to eat for breakfast was cereal topped with berries, Greek yogurt, and chia seeds. It was a healthy breakfast but now I can’t eat the cereals I was eating before. I like eggs but really don’t want it every day so I am excited when I find a new breakfast option. And as a bonus, my boys liked it. They don’t typically like regular oatmeal. I think that next time I will add a couple of tablespoons of chia seeds to it. I will probably need to increase the liquids (probably additional almond milk or applesauce) as the chia seeds will soak up a lot of it. I will let you know how it turns out. As is though, this was a hit around these parts!!

Strawberry and Banana Baked Oatmeal

Recipe was adapted from something I saw on Facebook so I don’t have a reference for where the recipe originally came from.

2 c. g/f rolled oats
1/3 c. Sugar in the raw
1 1/2 c. Unsweetened almond milk
2 Tbsp. flaxseed meal
1 Tbsp. pure vanilla extract
4 eggs
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp sea salt
1 Tbsp cinnamon
1/4 c plain Greek yogurt
2 bananas
2-4 strawberries
1/2 c unsweetened apple sauce
Instructions:
In a large bowl, combine the dry ingredients. In a smaller bowl, combine the wet ingredients. (Do not include the strawberries and bananas yet.)

Preheat the over to 375 degrees. Prepare a 8 in. circlular pan by greasing with coconut oil.

Combine the wet and dry ingredients.

In the bottom of the pan, spread a layer of thinly sliced bananas. Pour oat mixture over the bananas. Top with remaining banana and thinly sliced strawberries.

Bake for 45-50 minutes or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

Slice like a pie and serve hot.

Food for Thought: I think this would easily freeze.  I plan to try it the next time I make it.  I will probably make two and freeze one before baking so that it is ready to pull out and cook up.  I will let you know how works when I try it!

One response

  1. This looks delicious. I have been on an oatmeal kick lately, but I’ve never tried the banana and strawberry combo with oatmeal. Genius idea 🙂

Leave a Reply

Our Growing Paynes

A journey about cooking, traveling, gardening, and crafting.

Pastor Dale Jenkins

Encouragement, Faith, and Hope for the Journey

Scissortail SILK | Becky Thompson

Encouragement for Today >>> Hope for Tomorrow

Clare Smith

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Eat the cookie!

before the cookie eats you...

Life Shared and Loved

A blog written by Krysta Kemp on all areas of life loved.

Inspired.by.the.Journey

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Spiritual Table

One girl's quest to learn why food is a matter of faith.

oil-istas - The oil-istas Blog

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Bee Baby Blog

Real food, baby stuff and awesomeness

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Keeper of the Home

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Musings of a Mom

Thoughts on raising two little lovely boys!

Proverbs and Pacifiers

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

The Better Mom

Growing Better Together

Organizing Made Fun

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

I'm an Organizing Junkie

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

