What Wilford’s Are Eating 3/4-3/8

I have decided to make some changes to my diet over the next few months.  For many years, I have suffered from chronic headaches.  After trying medications, physical and occupational therapy, chiropractic care, massage therapy, etc., I had given up on getting rid of headaches for good.  However, I have recently come across two different diet related strategies that may help alleviate my problems and am going to do a trial run of both to see if they can improve my situation.

The first thing I will be undertaking is removing gluten from my diet starting today.  After researching gluten intolerance, I realized that chronic headaches is only one of about 5 symptoms I have.  I plan to go gluten-free for two months and then will reassess how I am feeling and if changing my diet has eliminated these issues.  It is going to be hard – I LOVE bread, pasta, muffins, etc. and so that will mean finding new ways to make these things I love and/or reduce my dependence on them in my cooking.

The second step I am going to take is the 21 Day Sugar Detox.  I first heard of it from a friend on Facebook.  I was intrigued.  Now, I am not one to do cleanses, crash diets, etc. and I definitely have not been eating or even believe in a completely Paleo or caveman style diet.  However, I do know that I love sweets and am addicted to sugar. My hope with the 21DSD is that I will be able to curb those cravings, reduce the amount of sugar I am taking in overall, and have fewer energy highs/lows due to sugar crashes. Another frequent outcome of a sugar detox is a reduction in headaches!!!  So, again, why not give it a try?  I don’t plan to permanently eliminate all sugar from my diet but you can do anything for 3 weeks.  It’s not that long and I really hope that it will help. I plan to officially start the 21DSD in April (after we go on vacation – I want to be able to eat what I want without thinking too hard about it!) but will be reducing sugar significantly over the coming weeks in preparation for my detox.

So, all of this means that I will be trying a WHOLE LOT of new recipes over the next few months.  I will also be looking back at recipes and identifying them as gluten-free or 21DSD friendly.  I will keep you posted as to how all of this is going and if it is helping me. My hope is that one, I will be healthier and free of headaches, and two, offering you more healthy options for your family as well.

P.S. If any of you reading this have made these changes in your diet ever, I would love to hear how it went for you and any advice you might be able to give!  It’s a new world for me and I need all the help I can get!  🙂

P.P.S. If you read any recipes I label as 21DSD friendly or gluten-free and they are not either, please, please correct me.  Like I said, I am learning!

What Wilfords’ Are Eating 3/4-3/8

(All recipes this week are new!)

Monday: Balsamic Onion Pot Roast, Roasted Cauliflower with Red Bell Pepper, Green Olives, and Pinenuts

Tuesday: Savory Baked Chicken with Braised Zucchini and Tomatoes

Wednesday: Chicken and Vegetable Lo Mein with Brown Rice

Thursday: Crockpot Balsamic Chicken with Roasted Carrot and Parsnip Fries

Friday: Taco Salad

Leave a Reply

Our Growing Paynes

A journey about cooking, traveling, gardening, and crafting.

Pastor Dale Jenkins

Encouragement, Faith, and Hope for the Journey

Scissortail SILK | Becky Thompson

Encouragement for Today >>> Hope for Tomorrow

Clare Smith

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Eat the cookie!

before the cookie eats you...

Life Shared and Loved

A blog written by Krysta Kemp on all areas of life loved.

Inspired.by.the.Journey

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Spiritual Table

One girl's quest to learn why food is a matter of faith.

oil-istas - The oil-istas Blog

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Bee Baby Blog

Real food, baby stuff and awesomeness

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Keeper of the Home

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Musings of a Mom

Thoughts on raising two little lovely boys!

Proverbs and Pacifiers

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

The Better Mom

Growing Better Together

Organizing Made Fun

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

I'm an Organizing Junkie

Or, a way to answer the question, "What's for dinner?"

